Monday, September 14, 2015

#MedSchoolMonday | A Typical Day in the Life of a Falco

J E F F ' S  S C H E D U L E :

6 AM - Wake up, eat breakfast, get ready

7 AM - 11 AM - Study/lectures/required activities

11:00 AM - 11:15 AM - Lunch

11:15 AM - 5:30 PM - Study/lectures/required activities

5:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Eat dinner, spend time with wife and daughter

7:30 PM - 9:50 PM - Study if needed or just hang out

9:30 PM - 10:00 PM - Get ready for bed and go to sleep

Fridays are the same except we hang out more.

Saturdays Jeff studies from about 7 AM - 2 PM on average (variability depending on the week).


C L A I R E  +  R I L E Y ' S  S C H E D U L E :

8 AM - I wake up either naturally or because Riley is crying (in the latter scenario I go right in her room and feed her). Otherwise I eat breakfast, start getting ready or start going through my daily list until Riley wakes up.

Once Riley has been fed I start her routine;
Diaper change, give vitamin D supplement, brush gums, bath time, brush hair and change outfit.

9 AM - At this point Riley is ready for a morning nap.
While she sleeps, I continue getting ready and checking items off my list.

10 AM - This is playtime/time for errands. We listen to music, read books, play on her activity mat and with her toys. We talk a lot and I try to use some sign language where appropriate. This usually wipes her out within two hours. I feed her again and put her down for her second nap.

12 PM - I clean the house, sometimes start a crockpot dinner at this point, make phone calls, continue working on projects and my checklist. I get things done and let Riley sleep as long as she wants.

1-2 PM - We repeat playtime and time for errands again until it's time for her nap.

3:00-3:30 PM - Naptime/me time

4-5 PM - Riley plays by herself (read: cries while I scramble to get dinner ready). I usually put her in her Mamaroo or on her mat and hope she entertains herself.

6 PM - Jeff comes home from school (he stays on campus and studies after his classes end and on Saturdays he comes home around 3 PM). He plays with Riley and then holds her while we eat dinner (it's not a perfect system. I know).

6:25 PM - We get Riley ready for bed, read one book, sing one song, feed her once more and put her down at 7 PM.

7 PM (give or take) - Jeff studies and I craft, blog, go to the store, or work out (or we both stare at social media for 20 minutes, haha).

8 PM - Around this time we watch a movie, show, or football game or we hang out, talk, plan the week, plan our Sunday school lessons, or what have you.

9 PM - Jeff wants to get ready for bed; I am immersed in a project and say I want to get ready for bed (but don't really).

9:30 PM - Jeff asks if we can go to bed at 10 PM. I say yes, but keep doing my thing (this is my downfall).

9:45 PM - I clean up the kitchen and make Jeff a lunch then run around getting ready for bed trying to meet that 10 PM goal.

10:00 PM - I run in and we read scriptures and pray. Jeff goes to bed. I finish getting ready for bed, say my prayers, do 15 push ups and an ab routine (I've done this for months).

10:15 PM - I get in bed, read my scriptures/look at social media for too long then go to bed.

1-5 AM - Riley usually has one to two night wakings. I feed her and put her back down.

5 AM - Sometimes I go to the gym and/or make Jeff a lunch if I forgot the night before.

We start our day again.


  1. Looking over this post I see two things: a very busy schedule, and a motivated woman. I'd love to get up at 5 to go to the gym on top of it all.

  2. Wow kudos to your family for enduring this very tough educational will be worth it all some day , thanks for visiting my blog today....

    Best to you!

  3. I love these simple posts and just seeing how you guys live your life. It's a fun and interesting little window into your life :)